Monday, August 19, 2019

The Pioneer of Indonesia’s Commercial Aviation

Spectr News Theme Miranti Devina
21, August 2015

PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) is one of the Indonesian State-owned Enterprises who runs in aviation service and business in Indonesia. The service focuses on the center and eastern region of Indonesia. PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) has a purpose to be a professional world-class company.

The history of Angkasa Pura Airports as the pioneer of commercial aviation company in Indonesia began from the national visit of President Soekarno to USA to meet President John F. Kennedy. When he arrived back in Indonesia, President Soekarno affirmed his urge to the Ministry of Public Works and Ministry of Transportation in order to make the airport in Indonesia equals to the airports in developed countries.

Shortly after, on 15th November 1962, there was Government Regulation No. 33 of 1962 about the establishment of State-owned Enterprise Angkasa Pura Kemayoran. The function of this enterprise was to build and manage the operation of Kemayoran Airport in Jakarta, which was the only international airport providing flights from and to overseas, besides domestic routes. On 17th May 1965, based on the Government Regulation No. 21 of 1965, the Government changed the name of State-owned Enterprise Angkasa Pura Kemayoran into State-owned Enterprise Angkasa Pura with a purpose to expand the possibility to manage other airports in Indonesia area.

And then, according to Government Regulation No. 37 of 1974, the legal status of the company changed to a Public Company (Perum). In order to divide the airport management areas, with the Government Regulation No. 25 of 1987 on 19th May 1987, the name Perum Angkasa Pura was changed into Perum Angkasa Pura I. This was according to the establishment of Perum Angkasa Pura II which was given a special task to manage Soekarno-Hatta Airport and Halim Perdanakusuma Airport. Based on Government Regulation No. 5 of 1992, Perum Angkasa Pura I changed into Limited Liability Company (PT) Angkasa Pura I (Persero).

PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) now manages and operates 13 airports, 2 Cargo Warehousing Services (CWS), and 1 Air Traffic Services (ATS). The airports are Ngurah Rai Airport (Denpasar), Juanda (Surabaya), Hasanuddin (Makassar), Sepinggan (Balikpapan), Frans Kaisiepo (Biak), Sam Ratulangi (Manado), Syamsudin Noor (Banjarmasin), Ahmad Yani (Semarang), Adisutjipto (Yogyakarta), Adisumarmo (Surakarta), International Lombok (Central Lombok), Pattimura (Ambon), and El Tari (Kupang).

Miranti Devina
Miranti Devina