< Technology

WhatsApp Adds The Ability to Unsend Messages

WhatsApp Adds The Ability to Unsend Messages

Technology

WhatsApp, the mobile messaging app is now rolling out the ability to "unsend" messages just in case you wrote a mistake. This feature is being added to the Android, iOS and Windows Phone versions of the app. Messages can be deleted in individual and groups chats, but there are several limitations.

When you "unsend" a message, the recipient will see a post that says: “This message was deleted.” This means the recipient will know that a message was deleted, but they will not know what it said. The "unsend" feature works for attachments like photos, videos, GIFs, voice messages, etc.

To "unsend" a message on WhatsApp, you simply have to push down on it in the conversation and select the trash can icon from the menu. Then you have to tap on “Delete for everyone” to recall the message. After tapping on that option, the message will disappear on your device and the recipient’s phone. Plus it will be removed from the Notification Center of the recipient as well. Tapping on "Delete for Me" just removes the message from your phone, but does not have any effect on your recipients' chats. And it’s also worth mentioning that you can "unsend" multiple messages. Messages have to be deleted within 7 minutes of being sent for it to work.

Another limitation is that the sender and the recipient are required to have the latest version of the WhatsApp app downloaded on their devices.Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful. You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.