Photo source: Pexels
The instant messaging app WhatsApp recently added a new feature, Disappearing Messages. With this feature, you can send messages that will disappear automatically. After activating Disappearing Messages feature, new message you send will disappear after seven days. The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat. This setting won’t affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat.
In an individual chat, either user can turn Disappearing Messages on or off. In a group chat, only group admins can turn Disappearing Messages on or off. If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
When you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days. If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. But, Disappearing Messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.
As for media in disappearing messages, by default, media you receive in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your phone. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear, but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on.
How to turn disappearing messages on
- Open the WhatsApp chat
- Tap the contact’s name
- Tap Disappearing Messages
- If prompted, tap Continue
- Select On